in

6 Awesome Fiction Books Written By African American Authors

Image by dmaxjr0 from Pixabay

This article showcases our top picks for ‘Fiction Books Written By Black Authors’. We reached out to industry leaders and experts who have contributed the suggestions within this article (they have been credited for their contributions below). 

We are keen to hear your feedback on all of our content and our comment section is a moderated space to express your thoughts and feelings related (or not) to this article This list is in no particular order.


I Am a Natural Cutie by P.D. Brown

This product was recommended by Pametria Dominise from PametriaDominise

This book empowers African American girls to love their natural hair in spite of what others may think. It explores the harsh realities of bullying and how children can navigate it through boosting their self esteem and confidence.


The Sound of Stars by Alechia Dow

This product was recommended by Geninna Ariton from Trendhim

A beautiful and thrilling debut novel for fans of Marie Lu and Veronica Roth. Its a sci-fi fantasy book interspersed with what our future could look like, and how two different races can explore the possibility of survival.


Kindred by Octavia Butler

This product was recommended by Ebony Haywood from ZayZoh

I love this book because it weaves fate, love, heritage, assimilation, and race–all complicated topics within themselves–into a compelling time-travel narrative. It raises the questions Who am I? and How far am I willing to go to preserve both my dignity and heritage?


The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

This product was recommended by Ebony Haywood from ZayZoh

This story challenges the idea of post-racialism in twenty-first-century America. I recommend this book because it explores the nuances of race, class, and upward mobility from the perspective of an often ignored population: the black, female teenager.


Washington Black by Esi Edugyan

This product was recommended by Ebony Haywood from ZayZoh

This is a beautiful and heart-wrenching tale of family, friendship, and forgiveness. Most novels I’ve read set during slavery take place in America, usually on a cotton plantation. This story takes place in Barbados on a sugar plantation. It’s an insightful glimpse into the Caribean slave culture.


My Sister, the Serial Killer by Oyinkan Braithwaite

This product was recommended by Beth McCallum from Oh So Spotless

This is a fantastically paced and beautifully written thriller about two sisters, one who is a serial killer. Braithwaite writes a fresh and unique story about what it means to kill, and what it means to protect. Each character feels like somebody I’ve never read about before (and I’ve read a lot of books). I was gripped from the first sentence to the last, hooked by the question, “How far will each character go for love?”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Image by Pexels from Pixabay

18 Best Fiction Books Set In New York

Image by dmaxjr0 from Pixabay

5 More Fiction Books Written By Black Authors